Conversation permissions

Learn about the conversation access of different roles in SleekFlow's Inbox

Written By Iqmal (Administrator)

Updated at July 1st, 2024

This article will outline the different factors that determine which conversations each user can access.

The following conditions determine which conversations users have access to, as well as what actions they are able to take within such conversations:

  • User’s role
  • Conversation’s assignment status
  • Conversation's assignee
     

By role

Staff

Users with a "Staff" role are only able to view, search for, and send messages in conversations with contacts that are unassigned, or with contacts they are currently assigned to as a contact owner or collaborator.
 

Team admin

On top of having access to all conversations tied to contacts that are either unassigned or assigned to themselves, users with a "Team Admin" role also have full access to view, search for, and send messages in conversations tied to contacts that are assigned to their team or teammates.
 

Admin

Users with an "Admin" role are able to view, search for and send messages in all conversations.
 

By assignment status

Unassigned

If a conversation is unassigned, everyone in the company can view, search for, and send messages within it.
 

In team waitlist

If a conversation is currently within a team waitlist and not yet assigned to a specific user within the team, everyone in that team can view, search for, and send messages within it. 
 

Assigned

If a conversation is assigned to a specific user, the contact owner and collaborators of that conversation can view, search for, and send messages within it. Additionally, team admins can also view, search for, and send messages within conversations where their team members are assigned in the capacity of either contact owner or collaborator.
 

By conversation assignee

Contact owner

The contact owner, meaning the user assigned to a specific conversation, can view, search for, and send messages within that conversation.
 

Collaborator 

Collaborators can view, search for, and send messages within conversations they are collaborating on.