Configuring "Conversation control" action nodes

How to set up action nodes such as "Change conversation status", "Assign to", and "Add collaborator"

Written By Iqmal (Administrator)

Updated at June 24th, 2024

All action nodes require setting up in a node form, where you specify the parameters for the selected action. In this article, we will guide you on how to set up every “Conversation control” action node so your flow can execute the appropriate tasks to achieve your desired outcome.

Change conversation status

The "Change conversation status" action changes the status of a conversation to open or closed. Use this action to track conversation progress, automate actions based on status changes, or route conversations to specific queues based on status.

Set up the "Change conversation status" action node form by following the steps below:

  1. Click on the "Change conversation status" action node to open up its form, which will appear on the right side of the screen


     
  2. The node form contains the following fields for you to configure your action:

            1. Change to - Select the conversation status you would like the current one to 
            be updated to


     

Assign to

The "Assign to" action assigns the enrolled contact's conversation to a specific user or team. Use this action to distribute workload, ensure conversations are handled by the appropriate users, or escalate issues to specialized teams.

Set up the "Assign to" action node form by following the steps below:

  1. Click on the "Assign to" action node to open up its form, which will appear on the right side of the screen


     
  2. The node form contains the following fields for you to configure your action:

             1. Assign to - Select how you would like to assign the conversation. You have 
             the option to assign to a specific user, a specific team, by queue to the default 
             order of all available users, or leave it unassigned
             2. Assigned user/team - Select the user or team to assign the conversation to
             3. Assign logic - If you assigned the conversation to a specific team, select how 
             you would like to assign the conversation to users on that team, e.g. by queue, 
             to a specific user, or multiple users with round robin assignment


     

Add collaborator 

The "Add collaborator" action adds another user or team member as a collaborator in the enrolled contact's conversation. Use this action to involve multiple users in complex conversations, facilitate collaboration, or provide additional support to customers.

Set up the "Add collaborator" action node form by following the steps below:

  1. Click on the "Add collaborator" action node to open up its form, which will appear on the right side of the screen


     
  2. The node form contains the following fields for you to configure your action:

            1. Collaborator - Select the user(s) you wish to add to the conversation as 
            a collaborator


     

Remove collaborator 

The "Remove collaborator" action removes a user or team member as a collaborator on the enrolled contact's conversation. Use this action to adjust collaboration needs, streamline communication, or remove unnecessary collaborators from the conversation.

Set up the "Remove collaborator" action node form by following the steps below:

  1. Click on the "Remove collaborator" action node to open up its form, which will appear on the right side of the screen


     
  2. The node form contains the following fields for you to configure your action:

            1. Remove - Configure the node to either remove specific collaborators or all 
            collaborators from the conversation
            2. Collaborator - Select the user(s) you wish to remove from the conversation 
            as a collaborator